Böhmen Budweiser Kreis
Home ] Up ] [ Böhmen Budweiser Kreis ] Village Names ]



Johann Gottfried Sommer

        This book is Volume 9 of a 16 volume set, written by Sommer in 1841. They are a statistical and topographical dissertation of the political districts of Bohemia.  

        On page 254 he lists the villages I am interested in:

        94) Salnau (Zelnava), a village situated about six hours walk from Krumau on the left bank of the Moldau (Vltava) on the road to Wallern, has 23 houses and 224 inhabitants. Here is a parish church, St. Jacob the Great, under the patronage of the prince, the time of its founding is not known, it was elevated in the year 1664 to an independent parish church, with a region that was previously part of the parish of Oberplan. One school also under princely patronage; in addition, a forest ranger house belonging to the prince, called Reidlhutte, about 1/4 hour to the East on the Sternberg (mountain). The following villages are part of the parish of Salnau: (95-103) 

        95) Sonnberg, a village 10 minutes walk North on a hill at the foot of the Reitberg on the left bank of the Moldau on the road to Wallern. 13 houses and 143 people.

        96) Hintring, a village of 22 houses, 248 people located 1/2 hour walk North of Salnau on the road to Wallern and the Black Forest. Here is one hunters and summer residence, named Schwarzwald, of the duke. Then there is near the village the mill from Hintring (Hintringer Mühle) with a saw on the creek of Hintringand 1/4 hour North the Schöppelmühle (Schöppel Mill) on the Strum Creek. 

        97) Uligsthal, newly established in 1822, was a wood-cutters colony belonging to the duke, 1/2 hour North of Hintring, upwards along the Hintring Creek consisting of 16 houses and 116 people.

        98) Parkfried, a village of 32 houses and 288 people. 1/2 hour walk South of Salnau on the Moldau, at the foot of the nearby mountain, with a bridge over the river.  To the village belongs the hunters houses of Salnau, each of which consists of living quarters for the hunter and woodworker and an office building. They are 10 minutes west of Parkfried on the right side of the Moldau River. Then the Höpfelmüle (Höpfel mill) and saw at the confluence of the Seebach (Lake Creek) and the Moldau. Then the Hozimühle, a dukes mill and saw on the Seebach 1/2 hour west of Parkfried and not far from that point an iron works company. On the nearby mountain are a few remains of walls possibly from a castle. 

        99) Pernek, village of 26 houses and 314 people. 3/4 hour walk SE from Salnau on the road toward Stein. Here is one school and one rustic mill and also one forest ranger house.

        100) Spitzenberg, village 18 houses and 173 people. One hour walk South from Salnau on the left of the Moldau; this village has a port, at which wood, shipped on the Moldau, is unloaded and brought over land to the freight canal. Here also is the Hefenkrieg mill and a few hundred steps south is the dukes mill on the Hefenkrieg Creek. Farther NW is the Zaunmühle, a rustic mill with a saw on the Moldau. Finally, the duke's hunters residence and across from the Zaunmühle, the Zaunbauer farm.  

        101) Neu-Ofen, Dominical village of 51 houses and 348 people. 1 hour walk SSW of Salnau at the foot of the Reischelberg (Reischel Mountain)  and the Roßberg (Ross Mountain), partially on the canal and partially on the Neuofenbach (New Stove Creek). There is a school built in 1825 and a mill. The people are mostly in the wood business.

        102) Hirschberg, also called Hirschbergen. This Dominical village has 35 houses and 303 people more than one hour West of Salnau in the valley between the Dürrwald (Dry Forest) and Roßberg. It was settled by woodworkers when the canal was created. Here one finds a dukes residence for observation of the happenings on the canal and a tunnel entrance which is 221 klft? long carved out of granite through the Flößlberg. 

        103) Haberdorf,  Dominical village with 19 houses and 184 people 1/2 hour walk West of Salnau on the right side of the Moldau on the East foot of the mountain downward from the Dürrwald. The area has lots of rocks and marshland. The citizens are woodworkers families.

        104) Schönau, A village of 26 houses and 256 people is more than 6 hours walk NNW from Krummau in the valley of the Moldau on the left bank. The local church, St. Anna and the school were built in 1790. Both institutions are under the patronage of the duke. Also to the village of Schönau belongs the farm Grasfurth, which has two houses and is located on the right bank of the Moldau, 1/4 hour South from the village. Pendelberg, a wild animal preserve 1/4 hour East also belongs to Schönau and Jodelhäuser which has two houses and is 1/2 hour West from the village on the other side of the Moldau. 

        105) Humwald, A dominical village with 42 houses and 360 people is 1/2 hour NW from Schönau in the Moldau valley. Still in existence is the Humwald mill which is 1/4 hour SE on a little creek and 3/4 hour N of Jodelhäuser. Humwald belongs to the church parish of Schönau.  

        106) Böhmisch-Röhren, also called Röhrenhäuser, and by the Schaller people called Böhmisch-Riehn is a dominical village nine hours WNW from Krummau on a mountain of the same name and on the Goldener Steig Route near the border of Bavaria. It has 42 houses and 545 people. The local church, St. Anna, and school were built in 1789 are also under the patronage of the duke. There is also a border control office, a hunters residence of the duke and a mill all 1/2 hour walk SE from the village. There are new houses ( also called Moorhäuser) which make up three dominical settlements twenty minutes SW on the country border. The village developed because of the Goldener Steig Route and its name came from a water pipe or fountain from which horses were watered. Part of the parish are the villages of Oberzassau, Schillerberg and Schönberg.

        107) Schönberg, A Dominical village with 32 houses and 299 people who are woodworker families; 3/4 hour walk South of Bohmisch-Rohren at the foot of the Jahrenberg. Part of Schonberg is the village of Brand, 1 hour South.


Contact: Peter Kinderman
See all the pages: Sitemap