Home ] Up ] Salnau ] Schönau ] [ Hirschbergen ] Hintring ] Sonnberg ] Uhligstal ] Parkfried ] Neuofen ] Pernek ] Spitzenberg ] Krummau ] Böhmisch-Röhren ] Wallern ] Humwald ] Eleonorenhain ] Obermoldau ] Kuschwarda ] Furstenhut ] Landstrassen ] Mehregarten-Gansauerhaid ] Schattawa ] Nuethal ]



Hirschberg, also called Hirschbergen. This Dominical village has 35 houses and 303 people more than one hour West of Salnau in the valley between the Dürrwald (Dry Forest) and Roßberg. It was settled by woodworkers when the canal was created. Here one finds a dukes residence for observation of the happenings on the canal and a tunnel entrance which is 221 klft? long carved out of granite through the Flößlberg. 

per Sommer, 1841.

Known home village of: Winkelbauer, Schroeder, Schlorhaufer, ...
hirschbergen circa 1930.gif (39797 bytes)

View of  Village c. 1930

Chronik Der Pfarrkirche Und Friedhof Salnau. 
#36 Bundestreffen Der Ehemaligen Einwohner Der Pfarreien Salnau und Schönau, 2000
hirschbergen map.jpg (48725 bytes)

Map of village c. 1945

From Fred Schroeder

hirschbergtunnelentrance.jpg (19659 bytes) (pk)

Tunnel entrance, April 2001

hirschbergencanal.jpg (39474 bytes) (pk)

Canal, April 2001


Schwarzenberg Log Canal

The canal was created for the purpose of getting wood out of the Bohemian Forest. As far back as the fourteenth century there had been a plan to connect the Danube and the Moldau (Vltava) rivers. In the 18th century an attempt was finally made. There was a shortage of timber and the price was rising. Up to this time the Bohemian Forest was not logged because of poor accessibility. The canal made it possible to get the timber to the market at Vienna. The canal was to be 56 miles long connecting Zwettlbach stream and the Muhle River. In 1789 construction began on the first part. It was 25 miles and it took four years to build. The section became known as the "old canal ". Joseph Schwarzenberg hired engineer Jan Rosenauer to draw up plans for the canal and oversee construction. The canal was only about 2 feet wide and 4 1/2' deep. 

The logs were cut into lengths about 3' long and allowed to dry during the winter. In spring when there was sufficient water the logs were sent thru the canal. About 200 people looked after the successful running of the canal, they removed logjams from the canal and other obstacles.The increase in tree felling after the opening of the navigational canal brought to the region of upper Šumava more possibilities of work. For this reason forestry workers came here, mainly wood workers, who with their families set up new settlements with the approval of the nobility. During this time the villages of Hutský Dvùr, Nová Pec, Jelení Vrchy, Stožec, Nové Údolí and many more were established. 

During the second half of the 19th century,  firewood was being replaced by coal and the canal become less important. The demand also changed from small logs to full length trees. The canal was remodeled to allow for the passage of longer logs and new side chutes from the main canal were created to move the logs to the Moldau River at Zelnava. At Želnava the logs were tied up into rafts, and floated down the Moldau River to Prague.

The railway arrived in 1892 and replaced the canal as the means of transport. The last logs were floated thru the canal in 1916 and only a small section, the Zelnava chute, was used until 1962.

This article was taken from www.ckrumlov.cz/uk/region/histor/i_schkan.htm


 Translation of chapter on Hirschbergen from the book Nueofen Chronik.  By Fred Schroeder.


The Village of Hirschbergen . (Ort,Ortschaft, Dorf, ƒ place= small country Village.)


 When also Hirschbergen originated ,thanks to the builder of the Schwemmkanal (Canal to float wood and trees.)History reached much further back.Early as 1728 Herrschaften,(Earls,ƒ Lords)Thought about to establish a settlement from 15-20 Houses .A report from 8.6.1728,(day is written first in Europe) stated, that between the great hills (mountains) and forests near Plöckenstein a part of 15-20 houses could be built.

It could on this place and in this described Jockes Forest (later a name was used as Jockes,- Jackles Forest )

Could be cleared as a settlement for the before described amount of houses .Because of this forest region local name Hirschberger Valley. Also it stated that nearby are  chairs of stone. (today Drei sessellberg, drei=3,Sessel= chair, Berg=hill.)where Passauer (city of Passau and Region) and upper Austrian borders with Bohémia come together, meet by 4 hrs (to walk there) but from the Plöckenstein only 2 hrs. between,

But the big Forests ,woods which are not used. To these  new houses after  the church in  Salnau 2 hr. foot march, walk. This report also stated that in this area are big strong  Hirsche (similar as a Ren, Ellen, Elk with pointy antlers),here also lays the point of the start of the name given to the Village of Hirschbergen .

But: Although Fürst (ƒEarl)Adam Franz tu Schwarzenberg in the stated report from 6.8.1728 (a decision-resolution from 16.6.1728 pre-supposition- support was) a settlement was approved, and although a great amount of willing settlers especially from the nearby Villages filled applications for the Jager Wald.

( Hunter Forest .)But to a settlement it did not  come. Probably because of a veto from the forest office.

Seeing the hunt of the Earls (Lords) Prinzen) in jeopardy for the Hirsche (wildlife). Also I 1755the forest office took a rejecting standpoint as many peoplefrom(especially Parkfrie and Neuofen filled applications for approval for a few lots to built houses in the described Hunter forest.

The settlement started only after Rosenauer (Architect of the Schwemmkanal-ƒ float wood and logs up to 55’)had built his canal to furthest point, corner of the lovely valley of Hirschbergen . The start up to float wood, the need to settle woodcutters. It seems to be in 1793, 6 wood houses were built,(built around the described ,,Engineer” of the Canal Hütte,(ƒ sort of wood, log cottage) in Hirschbergen during the building of the Canal)6 wood cutters were settled. The slightly built accommodations were not demolished  were upgraded before the winter time. You could not talk about it ,it was only temporary housing.

The first settlers contracts are only established, written down from 14.5.1796.The names wereJohann Graf, Bartl Binder, Michl Schlorhaufer Jun. And Anton Schinko.Lot, and ground and use, wood and money to built was given before. In 1799 an additional settlement of 15 houses were added. But they were opposite from the houses from 1793 which were on the Canal side of the valley. Their place (new homes) were allocated- given to them in the Jockes forest on the Hirsch Creek.

1869 Hirschbergen had its own first school, before that the Hirschberger children had to attend school in Neuofen.1906 counted the Village 27 houses with 219 Citizens. 1948 it had 38 houses with 260 Citizens. From the former woodcutters Village became a much sought Vacation Place for the City People. Also much responsible was the nearby tunnel of the Schwemmkanal.An object of interest for many visitors

who were enticed, charmed ( by this early architectural masterpiece).

A good Craftsman was Lorenz Saumer from Waldkirchen ,( nearby Bavaria) which built much of the first houses in Hirschbergen .For him remember a few Marterls ( little statues of stone or stucco with his name and date inscribed, one is still standing when you enter  Hirschbergen at the first house on the right side.)

At the See-Bach- Valley> ƒ lake creek valley <(the Seebach starts at the Plöckensteiner See (lake) and flows trough the Hirschberger Valley and  flows into the Moldau.)

Poet Johannes Urzidil spent as its first choice his vacations in Hirschbergen, his narrations, stories are still alive and live further. 

Pronunciation in dialect: Hiaschbeagn, under Czech Rule since 1918. Hirisperk-is wrong.

Jeleni- or Jeleni Vrychi. The single group of houses- state the names: Johannis Säge (Johannis Saw Mill)

Not standing since the 30s,?. Geometer Steig,(Little Pad –shortest way from Hirschbergen to Salnau.)

Street houses, Canal houses.


List of former inhabitants in 1945:
From Fred Schroeder

House # House Name Surname
1 Schmier brenna Stini
2 Schmier brenna heisl  Stini
3 Touni Lippl

Touni Schousta


Mr. Fechter was a shoemaker-repairman

4 Grofn  Schläger
5 Seppn  Bernhard
6 Tounza  Tanzer
7 Hiasl  Pendelin
8 Toumerl  Fechter
9 Lenzn  Jungbauer
10 Pforameiner  Schläger
11 Wostl  ?
12 Prager 


 Stini, Saumer

Franz Saumer was a substitute forester

13 Binda Hega  Binder

Mr. Binder was a forester employed by Fürst of Schwarzenberg.

14 Saumer Korl

Guesthouse with outside bowling alley

15 Vorder Fechter


16 Bouferl-Konsum  Schwarz
17 Klapschi  Fechter
18 Schule  
19 Zimmer Seppn  Pendelin
20 Ludwign  Deck, Faschingbauer
21 Baun  
22 Groißmichel Schlorhaufer
23 Kloamichel  Bernhard
24 Bachtl  Binder, Bauer
25 Plechinger Hega  Plechinger
26 Stadelbaum  Stadlbauer
27 Schröda  Schröder
28 Tischla  Schlapschi
29    Heisl Franzl
30    Johann Miller
31 Baun Frounz   
32 Seppn Toni   
33 Jagahaus, Oberförster    
34 Heisl Wagner

Was a wagon, sled, ski maker also a barber shop.

35 Jachim  Schwarz
36 Pasta Weinzl  Pasta
37 Kloamichel Seppl  Bernhard
38 Pforramenia Toni  Schläger


From the book: NUEOFEN am Plöckensteiner See.

For the villages of Nueofen, Gehäng, Nuehäuser, Langhaid, Haberdorf, Hirschbergen:

Residents at the time of expulsion in 1945.

Ortschaft Hirschbergen

Namensverzeichnis der letzten Hausbesitzer- Bewohner aus dem Jahre 1945 der

1 Stini Karl        Schmierbrenner                                         Forstarb.   
1 Stini Franz Schmierbrennerstibl                                       Forstarb.  
2 Stini Franz Schmierbrennerstibl                                       Forstarb.     
3 Pasta Rudolf          Toni Lippl                                         Forstarb.  
3 Fechter Alois  Toni Lipplstibl                                         Forstarb.  
4 Schläger Otto                 Grof                                         Forstarb.  
5 Bernhard Franz   Seppmfronz                                         Forstarb.   
6 Tanzer Rudolf             Tanzer                                         Forstarb.        

7 Pendelin Franz       Hirslfronz                           Forstarb.                  
8 Fechter Franz            Toumerl                           Forstarb.                
9 Jungbauer Wenzl Lenznwenzl                           Forstarb.
10 Schläger Rudolf Pforermeiner                            Forstarb.         
11 Schwarz Jordan            Wostl                           Forstarb.       
12 Müller Johann    Prager-Hans                           Forstarb.       
12 Saumer Franz
13 Binder Oswald Schwarzenberg-                       Oberheger        
14 Saumer Karl      Hinterfechter                           Landwirt        
14 Mauritz Krenn    Fechterstibl                           Forstarb.          
15 Fechter Anton  Vorderfechter                          Gastwirt,    
16 Schwarz Wilhelm          Poferl                           Landwirt         
16 Fechter Johann      Poferlstibl                           Forstarb.         
16 Tanzer Rudolf       Poferlstibl                           Forstarb.         
17 Fechter Karl             Klapschi                           Forstarb.     
17 Bauer Heinrich  Klapschistibl                           Forstarb.      
18 Mick Karl               Schulhaus                        Oberlehrer        
19 Pendelin Jakob Zimmerseppm                          Forstarb.       
20 Stini Ludwig               Ludwig                         Sägewerk     
21 Bauer Josef                    Baun                           Forstarb.       
22 Schlorhaufer Josef Groismichl                           Forstarb.      
23 Bernhard Josef       Kloamichl                           Forstarb.    

24 Binder Karl                  Bachtl                    ~    Forstarb.      

24 Bauer Karl             Bachtlstibl                           Forstarb.       

25 Plechinger Heinrich Schwarzenberg                        Heger          
26 Stadelbauer Johann Stadelbau                           Forstarb.          
27 Schröder Johann        Schröda                           Forstarb.      
27 Bernhard Maria  Schrödastibl                           Forstarb.       
28 Schlapschi Karl         Tischler                            Tischler
29 Schwarz Franz       Heislfranz                           Forstarb.
30 Müller Johann Miiller Johann                           Forstarb.          

                        31            Fechter Franz          Baunfranz
                32            Bernhard Anton      Seppntoni
                33            Hirsch Wilhelm       Forsthaus
                34            Schwarz Johann      Heislwagner
                35            Schwarz Joachim    Jachim
                36            Pasta Wenzl            Pastawenzl
                36            Schl
äger Reimund  Pastawenzlstibl
                37            Bernhard Josef        Kloamichlsepp
                38            Schl
äger Anton      Pforermeiner Toni


Gustav Jungbauer, Professor 
"Märchen aus Turkestan und Tibet", 1924; "Geschichte der deutschen Volkskunde", 1931

Gustav Jungbauer, (age 32) 
became a founder and publisher of the "Sudentendeutschen Zeitschrift für Volkskunde".

Gustav Jungbauer, Professor 
Chief of the "Beiträge zur sudetendeutschen Volkskunde"


Contact: Peter Kinderman
See all the pages: Sitemap